January 30, 2014

Lebanon Valley Coillege Football Announces Postseason Awards

"The second straight year a tight end has earned the honor."
ANNVILLE, Pa. - The Lebanon Valley College football team handed out its post-season awards before more than 350 people at its annual banquet on Saturday, which recognized the Middle Atlantic Conference champions and the program's senior class.
Offensive MVP - Brendon Irving
The freshman running back had a breakout season, rushing for 834 yards and seven touchdowns in 11 games. He had six 100-yard games, including five in a row to end the season with a 154-yard effort at Misericordia and a four-touchdown game against FDU-Florham.

Defensive MVP - Frank Gaffney
Gaffney earned all-America honors at linebacker after a record-setting campaign for LVC, which included a program-record 13 sacks. He had 19.5 tackles for a loss among his team-best 82 stops to be named the MAC Defensive Player of the Year.

Special Teams MVP - Sean Fakete
Fakete earned special teams MVP and second-team all-MAC honors for the third straight season. Fakete made nine of 11 field goals attempts, including three over 40 yards, and was 34-for-37 on PATs to be LVC's all-time leader in both categories.

Unsung Hero Award - David Kennedy
Kennedy was one of LVC's most consistent producers on defense, racking up 79 tackles (second-most on the team) with 4.5 stops for a loss in his senior season at inside linebacker. He ended his career with his best game of the season, a 12-tackle performance at Wittenberg in the NCAA Tournament.

Hammer Hit Award - Evan Fink
Given to a player who consistantly hits the hardest during the season, the Hammer Hit award went to an offensive player for the first time with senior fullback Evan Fink earning it. Fink was the crushing lead blocker for a team that ran for 2,228 yards and 4.7 yards per attempt in 2013.

Scott Wallace Memorial Award - Brian Murphy
Murphy was named the Scott Wallace Memorial Award recipient, given to a returning team member in good academic standing who displays exemplary play and leadership on the field. Murphy took over the starting quarterback role as a junior and threw for 1,781 yards and 16 touchdowns while running for two more.

Walter Sheets Memorial Offensive Lineman Award - Nate Myers
The second straight year a tight end has earned the honor, Myers graded out as one of the team's top blockers in 2013 while serving as a key relief valve in the passing game, where he caught nine passes for 103 yards and a touchdown.

Service Players of the Year - Jeff Hacker (offensive), Kyle Murray (defensive), Reid Pavlik (special teams)
The Service Player of the Year awards are given to players who show outstanding dedication and drive in helping the varsity team prepare for their opponents in practice. Hacker, Murray, and Pavlik were all invaluable to the team in mimicking opponents' schemes in practice during the week. It was Pavlik's second straight special teams honor. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your positive comments and suggestions are welcome. This site is not here for trolling or negative comments from one team fan to another.