November 19, 2014

Delaware Valley Football - Bailey named MAC Offensive Player of the Year, 11 selected to All-MAC Team

Sr WR Rasheed Bailey (Image: John Green)
ANNVILLE (PA) – Delaware Valley College senior wide receiver Rasheed Bailey (Philadelphia, PA/Roxborough) was voted by the Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) coaches as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year while he was one of 11 Aggies who received all-conference honors (seven first team, three second team, one honorable mention).

The following Aggies were recognized by the MAC:

First Team

Rasheed Bailey (Philadelphia, PA/Roxborough) – senior wide receiver

Rashaad Lighty (Pottstown, PA/Pottstown) – junior linebacker

Rodney Linder (Philadelphia, PA/West Catholic) – senior offensive lineman

Chris Smallwood (Philadelphia, PA/Upper Moreland) – senior running back

Josh Wallace (Philadelphia, PA/Northeast) – junior offensive lineman

Aaron Wilmer (Philadelphia, PA/George Washington) – senior quarterback

Danny Wynne (Hatfield, PA/North Penn) – junior defensive back

Second Team

Dave Driscoll (Hatboro, PA/Upper Moreland) – senior offensive lineman

Joe Meehan (Quakertown, PA/Quakertown) – senior fullback

Brandon Snyder (Shillington, PA/Governor Mifflin) – senior placekicker

Honorable Mention

Max Stella (Doylestown, PA/Central Bucks West) – senior tight end

Bailey’s selection marks the seventh time in the last 11 years that a Delaware Valley player earned MAC Player of the Year accolades and he is the fourth to get the top offensive award. Quarterbacks Adam Knoblauch (2005) and Mike Isgro (2008) as well as tailback Matt Cook (2010) were MAC Offensive Players of the Year while linebackers Andrew Erby (2004) and Kyle Gesswein (2009 and 2010) garnered MAC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Bailey is in the midst of a season to remember as he earned a spot on the all-MAC first twam for the second straight year. He has caught 75 passes and leads all of Division III in receiving yards (1,634), receiving yards per game (163.4 avg) and receiving touchdowns (19). He is also seventh nationally in scoring (11.4 points per game)

Bailey has set or tied single-game school marks for receptions (11), yards (252) and touchdowns (4 – twice) this year while his NCAA-leading marks in receiving yards and touchdowns are also school records. Bailey’s 75 receptions is three shy from tying that single-season mark and he is also closing in on the all-time records of 3,118 yards and 31 touchdown catches as his career totals stands at 3,065 yards and 29 trips to the end zone.

Wilmer was named to the all-MAC team for all four of his year with the Aggies including first-team accolades in each of the last two seasons. He was also the MAC Rookie of the Year in 2011.

This season, Wilmer is ranked nationally in eight separate categories, including passing yards per completion where he is second with 17.7 yards per completion. He is also seventh in passing yards (3,064); eighth in passing efficiency (177.0 rating), passing touchdowns (30), and points responsible for (212); 11th in passing yards per game (306.4 avg); and 13th in total offense (333.2 avg) and points responsible for per game (21.2 avg). Wilmer has connected on 173 of 290 passes (59.7 percent) and has also rushed for 268 yards and five touchdowns.

Wilmer is also just seven passing yards shy of becoming the 26th player in college football history (all divisions) to pass for 10,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a career. His current totals stand at 9,993 passing yards and 1,596 rushing yards for 11,589 yards of total offense.

Wynne picked up his second straight, first-team all-conference honor. He finished second in the MAC in the regular season with 99 tackles (52 solo). He will also take three pass breakups, two forced fumbles, one interception, one sack and one blocked kick into the NCAA playoffs.

Wallace earned a spot on the all-conference team for the second year while it was the first honor for his linemate in Linder. Wallace, a left tackle, and Linder, a right guard, have helped pave the way for an offense that is sixth in Division III in total yardage (513.8 avg) and 11th in scoring (43.4 avg).

Lighty and Smallwood are first-time all-MAC selections. Lighty placed second in the conference during the regular season. His season totals also include 52 tackles, one interception (returned 25 yards for a touchdown) and a fumble recovery.

In his first year as a starter, Smallwood is fourth in Division III in rushing touchdowns (a school-record 19), fifth in scoring (12.0 points per game), 10th in rushing yards (1,295) and 13th in rushing yards per game (129.5 avg). He has gone over the 100-yark mark seven times this year, including 104 last week against Widener which entered the game as Division III’s top rushing defense. Smallwood has also caught 26 passes for 315 yards and one trip to the end zone.

Driscoll switched over from defensive line to the left guard position on offense and he picked up his first all-conference nod. He has started all 10 games so far for Delaware Valley and has helped the team eclipse the 50-point mark in half of those contests.

It is also the first time that Meehan’s name has appeared on the all-conference team. He is mostly used as a blocker from his fullback position and has helped open holes for Smallwood and company. Meehan does have a touchdown reception to his credit.

Snyder moved up to the second team after two straight years as an honorable mention pick. He has connected on eight of 11 field goal attempts and 54 of 58 extra-point tries for an Aggie record 78 points. Snyder has notched 204 points in his four years and enters the postseason just one point shy of the school’s all-time mark.

Stella was recognized by the conference coaches for the second straight year. He has five catches for 45 yards and has also played a key role in the Aggie rushing attack as a block.

Delaware Valley ended the 2014 regular season with a 9-1 overall record, including an 8-1 mark in the conference. The Aggies were selected for the NCAA Division III Championships as an at-large team and will host Christopher Newport University in the first round this Saturday, November 22 (12:00 p.m.)