January 26, 2015

Lebanon Valley Football - Dutchman Hands Out Post-Season Awards

Photo courtesy of Lebanon Valley Sports Information
ANNVILLE, Pa. - The Lebanon Valley College football team handed out its post-season awards before more than 350 people at its annual banquet on Sunday, which remembered the 2014 season and honored the program's senior class.

Offensive MVP - Tyler George
George, a senior, had a standout season at wide receiver with 59 receptions for 932 yards and 12 touchdowns. His season was one of the best ever by an LVC wide-out, ranking fifth in yards, third in receptions, and third in touchdowns.

Defensive MVP - Frank Gaffney
The defensive second straight year, Gaffney led the Dutchmen with 86 total tackles, including 47 solo stops. He tied for the team lead with 9.5 tackles for loss and racked up 3.5 sacks, two hurries, and two pass break-ups.

Special Teams MVP - Joe Bennett
Bennett, a wide receiver, was a key part of LVC's special teams units in 2014. Bennett made five kick-off tackles and was consistently a disruptive force defending returns.

Unsung Hero Award - Clayton Williard
Williard was a big run-stopper at nose tackle with 29 tackles (4.0 for a loss) and four quarterback hurries. The senior also played a key offensive role, slotting in as an additional guard in short-yardage and goal-line situations and helping LVC backs produce.

Hammer Hit Award - Reid Pavlik
Given to a player who consistantly hits the hardest during the season, the Hammer Hit award went to Pavlik, who moved from safety to a starting role at outside linebacker and made 31 tackles with two sacks and 4.5 tackles for loss.

Scott Wallace Memorial Award - Trevor St. Clair
Murphy was named the Scott Wallace Memorial Award recipient, given to a returning team member in good academic standing who displays exemplary play and leadership on the field. St. Clair was elected a 2015 captain after the season after racking up 49 tackles at inside linebacker with three interceptions, a fumble recovery, and a blocked kick.

Walter Sheets Memorial Offensive Lineman Award - Tyler Good
Tyler Good was a consistent producer for LVC at right guard, taking over as a junior and starting all 10 games there. He helped LVC's run game average 186.3 yards per game and 4.1 yards per carry with 21 touchdowns, and LVC allowed only 1.7 sacks per game in 2014.

Service Players of the Year - Colt Baxter (offensive), Tyler Conlon (defensive), Alex Nicolas (special teams)
The Service Player of the Year awards are given to players who show outstanding dedication and drive in helping the varsity team prepare for their opponents in practice. Baxter, Conlon, and Nicolas were all invaluable to the team in mimicking opponents' schemes in practice during the week.